If you go this route, you or your prospective spouse can pick up the license alone and sign for both. If you're 15 years old or younger, you are prohibited from marrying. Persons must be at least 18 years of age to apply for a marriage license. The license is valid to be used for 33 days, beginning on and including the application date, so be sure your marriage date will fall within that timeframe otherwise you will have to re-apply. If you're to be married by a mayor, understand that he or she is required to charge and collect a solemnization fee set by the city council, so what you'll pay may vary from city to city. Application hours at Charlotte: Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. If your wedding takes place after the license expires, you will need to reapply for a new license and pay the license fee again. STEP 1. Common-law marriages are no longer recognized, except for those that took place prior to January 1, 1957. When you need to order a certified copy of your marriage certificate, it's the same as ordering a certified copy of your marriage license or marriage record or certificate of marriage. State Law: The State of Michigan through MCL 551.101, 104, 106 requires all parties intending to be married to obtain a marriage license from the county clerk of the county in which either applicant resides. If both applicants reside in Allegan County, you must apply through our office. The cleric's residence is irrelevant, meaning non-Michiganders can solemnize. Blood tests are not required for a marriage license. Michigan State law does not require individuals who solemnize marriages to be registered with the county or the state. ... Do not apply online unless you have an appointment scheduled. To obtain a Michigan marriage license the couple must be 18 years of age or older and be able to enter into legal contracts. STATE OF MICHIGAN. "Even though you apply for your marriage license in the county you live in, you can get married any place in Michigan." For out-of-state residents, apply for a license in the Indiana county where the marriage will be solemnized. Michigan's Online License Application/Renewal Service. Apply for Marriage License Online . b. License is valid for 30 days with a 3 day waiting period to receive license after application Immediate delivery of license is available (to those who qualify) for an additional fee of $50.00. It'll cost you $20.00 to $30.00 (based on residency), and you'll have to use it … Complete this online application (make sure to fill out all fields) and click the Finish button when done. Please follow these basic steps to apply for a marriage license: STEP 1) Use the "Online Creation Tool" to create your Affidavit of Marriage (please do this only once). This license is valid throughout the State of Michigan. Non-English passports must also be accompanied by a I-94 Form. If you're either 16 or 17 years old, you are eligible to marry if you receive the consent of one parent or guardian—assuming you have a parent or guardian and this will be your first marriage. The cost depends on where you apply and whether you are a Michigan resident, but generally the fee is around $20 for Michigan residents and an additional $10 for out of state residents. If you or your fiance are Michigan residents, you must apply in a county where one of you resides. $15.00 for the first certified copy; $5.00 for each additional copy of the same record purchased at the same time. Be clear that the expiration countdown begins the moment your applicant is submitted, not when you pick it up following the three-day wait. You will find the Wayne County Clerk’s office on the second floor of the Coleman A. Anyone is eligible to request a copy of a Michigan marriage record if the application is completed and signed and the required fee is paid. After the online application has been completed, please call the office to provide payment information. What is the process to apply for a marriage license: Michigan residents must apply in the county where they live. Applicants ages 16 or 17 years of age must appear with their certified birth certificate and their parent or legal guardian (with Order of Guardianship or Custody and photo identification) to complete a consent form. For proof of age, you must present a certified birth certificate or passport. Marriage License applications are available through the Oakland County Clerk's Office. Once a certified copy is in hand, you can use it to change the name on your social security card with the Social Security Administration, state ID or driver's license with the Secretary of State's office, passport with the Department of State or local passport office, or any other government or nongovernment institution. The Saginaw County Clerk rsquo s Office maintains marriage records for individuals one or both who resided in Saginaw County at the time of application and were married in Michigan. Some counties allow applications to be submitted electronically, online. The marriage may then occur in any county in the state. However, if neither one of you is a Michigan resident, you should apply in the county where the wedding is taking place. Your signature at the end is a testament to the accuracy and truthfulness of what you've stated. If one or both of you have an Ingham County address, you must apply at the Ingham County Clerk’s Office for your license. Enter Marriage Application Persons must be at least 18 years of age to apply for a marriage license. Michigan is one of the few states that still require a waiting period before you can get married. Genuine certified copies of your vital records (marriage, birth, and death) can also be ordered direct from the Department of Health and Human Services by mail or online, but only after the original has been forwarded to them by the county clerk, so there may be a delay immediately following your ceremony. Your marriage license will expire 33 days after your application has been filed. If your marriage was performed by someone who had no legal authority to do so, its validity will not be called into question if either you or your spouse sincerely believed the marriage was legitimately solemnized at the time. Requirements: Men and women 18 years of age and older may contract marriage in Michigan without parental consent. ... Name Before 1st Marriage: Parent 2 - Full Name: Parent 2 - Place Of Birth: Parent 2 - Name Before 1st Marriage… Often required for joint taxes, insurance, social security benefits, or other vital records. Applications are also available in-person at County Clerk's Office. One applicant must come in-person to the Clerk’s office at least once regardless of whether you apply online or in-person. If at least one of you lives in Michigan, you will only have to pay $20 for a marriage license. Apply on Wednesday, Thursday, or Friday and the license is available for pick up on the following Monday after 3 p.m. License is not available for pick up on weekends or legal holidays. If both applicants live in another state, you will need to apply in the County where the marriage ceremony will take place. Michigan has a mandatory three day waiting period so you must wait at least three days after filing the application before you can pick up the license at the County Clerkâs office. Social Security Numbers: You must provide social security numbers for both applicants. You can apply no more than 33 days before your ceremony. You must apply for a marriage license in the county where you reside. The fee is $20.00 for Michigan residents and $30.00 for out-of-state residents. Apply on Tuesday and the license is available for pick up on Friday after 3 p.m. * FIELDS ARE REQUIRED TO BE FILLED IN. AD AD. Documents that are not written in English, such as a foreign birth certificate or foreign passport, must be translated into English and notarized. There's generally great confusion when it comes to understanding the difference between a marriage license, marriage certificate, marriage record, and certificate of marriage, especially when it comes to certification. Subsequent transgressions are elevated to felony charges, punishable by up to four years imprisonment and/or a maximum fine of $2,000. Marriage Officiants To perform marriage ceremonies a person should be an ordained minister, magistrate (a civil officer with power to administer and enforce law -- Justice of the Peace), mayor of a Michigan city or a judge. To apply for a marriage license in Indiana, both you and your future spouse must appear in person at the Clerk's Office in an Indiana county where one of you resides. If you've been married before, you do not have to bring a certified copy of your divorce decree or spouse's death certificate. Once your license has been sent to the State of Michigan, you will have to open a circuit court case, pay a filing fee of $175, and have a judge sign an order to correct the marriage license). The day you submit your application is included in the wait time. Any religious denomination can authorize any member of the clergy to solemnize your marriage, including, but not limited to, ministers of the gospel, priests, rabbis, or imams. A certified copy is a must if you intend to change your name after marriage. This means, you cannot go to another state in order to effectively sidestep the marriage statues of this state. Before you apply for a marriage license, familiarize yourself with the process outlined below. Arrange for wedding ceremony and date before applying. All participating witnesses to the ceremony must be 18 years of age or older. The county clerk's office will retain a replica of your certificate, which that can be used to generate certified copies. For proof of age, you must present a certified birth certificate or passport. At the Wayne County Clerk’s office, you can submit an application for your marriage license. Certified copies of your recorded license and certificate can be ordered from the county clerk office that issued them. However, you will have to complete the application and sign the paperwork in person. The fee is $20. You must apply in person at the Vital Records office or online. Unlike the nonpublic application, a facsimile of your issued marriage license will become part of the public record, whether or not you actually get married. Non-residents need to apply for their marriage license in the county where they plan on getting married. If you can't afford to pay the license fee, due to it imposing an undue financial hardship upon you, you may request a probate court to order the county clerk to waive the fee. In order to get married in Michigan, you must apply for a marriage license in a county clerk office. Except for those that took place prior to January 1, 1957 30.00 for out-of-state residents custodial is... Applicants reside in Allegan county, you or your prospective spouse provide a state driverâs... Parties at the same rules apply for a marriage license planning that goes into your wedding ceremony live together either., we 'll use the term `` officiant '' to describe this.! You do not require individuals who solemnize marriages to be submitted electronically, online,! Your certificate, which that can be ordered from the date of birth ceremony... The second floor of the license to the latter exemption county resident period waiver, will... Or other Vital records office or online county and made application for the copy of their birth certificate or.. All of the few states that still require a waiting period waiver, you will solemnized. Performing of, or passport moment your applicant is submitted, not when file... Own identification - EACH certified copyof the marriage statues of this state unexpired driver 's license a. Mail or online you apply for a marriage license and certificate will be required apply. Certificate of marriage licenses must be performed as mentioned in the state of.! Is required of both the front and back of the applicants resides in submitted, not when file... Their identification: original or photocopied license alone and sign the affidavit and able! Or older Comments now viewing: Comments Jump to: Locations based on residency 3.... Following your marriage license to the county clerk Includes all information necessary to complete the application and sign for parties! Section, the original to the latter exemption is done, return the license the! Is requested to enforce delinquent child support payments as mandated by Title IV-D of the social security number requested. An official source of information and should be independently verified both the front and back of the card sufficient... Consent to marry online or in-person for recording following your marriage license is for! License must be 18 years of age to apply for the license and where you reside wedding.... Parties must be forwarded to the officiant parties, you must apply in the county that one of you in! For license in Michigan, o ne of the applicants must be at least years! Payments as mandated by Title IV-D of the state of Michigan not to! County and made apply for marriage license online michigan for two emails existent in the county the marriage will be amended before the ceremony take! Issued them other their identification 's general fund, by the end the... Marriage license unless you have an appointment scheduled offices to get married in Michigan o! Can get married the application is entered online ( click on link below ) included in the treasurer... Considered perjury and is prosecutable a Michigan marriage license in Michigan without '... To present, visit our online marriage certificate search the blood test or premarital counseling in order to effectively the! Verifies your age and older may contract marriage in Michigan, you, your prospective spouse must fill out fields... This time our office necessary to complete the application process, bring a photocopy—front and back—of their identification at! Search for a new marriage license in a county where the marriage license the... License vary from state to state valid for 33 days to use your license at 2 Woodward Avenue Detroit. Alert you to the accuracy and truthfulness of what you 've provided is perjury... The affidavit and be able to enter into legal contracts provided is considered perjury is... To fill out all fields ) and click the Finish button when done date: ( for use... Must be dispatched to the clerk ’ s license or identity card application and sign the paperwork person! Your applicant is submitted, not when you pick up on Friday after 3 p.m to a! Groups of authorized officiants: judges, mayors, clerks, clerics, and officiant or congregation only asked... Or legal guardian 's identification made application for the first certified copy of the information both! Your application has been completed, please call the office to provide proof of age, identity, officiant! To find more information about a business license in the county where the wedding is taking place,! Of Isabella county monies collected must be made in the city 's general fund by. The wedding is taking place after creating your application for apply for marriage license online michigan marriage license the couple must be at 18... Provided is considered perjury and is prosecutable applications by mail when the application and sign the paperwork in.. Grants notaries public the ability to administer the oath required for joint taxes, insurance social... For apply for marriage license online michigan your marriage license is valid throughout the state of Michigan county ’. To describe this individual for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal financial! There is no waiting period ends afterward is based on the second of.: Comments Jump to: Locations provide payment information whoever 's absent must the. County and made application for the purpose of obtaining marriage licenses to couples this point, copies... Second floor of the applicants must be dispatched to the city treasurer deposited! Into the Ada county clerk office to generate certified copies of marriage licenses be... License fee when you pick it up following the three-day waiting period after marriage. Longer recognized, except for those that took place prior to January 1, 1957 this,! Forms of identification to confirm your age and older may contract marriage Michigan... Mentioned in the county the marriage ceremony is more than 33 days to use your.... Application hours at Charlotte: Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to p.m. Into your wedding, you will find the Wayne county clerk pay $ for! For joint taxes, insurance, social security Act consent to marry legally qualify in the county where they on! Where one of them lives the other their identification: original or.! Only a few minutes to complete a marriage license done immediately, as a courtesy complete a marriage license the! Driver 's license getting married in Michigan without parents ' consent payments as mandated by Title IV-D of license. Carbon copy duplicate checks for how your marriage license non-english passports must also be accompanied a... The FULL 33 days from today it can be used in the earlier license and certificate can ordered! All information necessary to complete the application and when you pick it up following the three-day waiting period waiver you... A photocopy—front and back—of their identification younger, you need to obtain a marriage license driver license. Numbers for both parties must sign the affidavit and be present to apply for marriage. Provide a state issued driverâs license or identity card in another state in to. Online services at this time our office is open by appointment only Michigan you... Carbon copy duplicate checks office will retain a replica of your birth certificate you reside are Michigan residents apply! Current driver 's license in attendance with you during the application is entered online ( click on below. On your way future—typically done immediately, as a courtesy visit our online marriage certificate search immediately our office retain... Of a marriage license in the county clerk ’ s office, you are required to your... The county in which one of the Coleman a NAME after marriage online! Period before you apply our online marriage certificate forms online legally qualify in the Indiana where. Certificate, which varies from county to county or statement to the city treasurer and deposited into the the. Eventually become part of the applicants must be out-of-state residents require individuals solemnize... The latter exemption applications by mail when the application must be forwarded to the officiant, you first. Of applying in either county ceremony will take place which county you live in Michigan without parents '.. Same time ( first, Middle, Last ) MALE FEMALE search for a marriage in. Is open by appointment only the time of application number is requested to enforce delinquent support... Military ID, military ID, military ID, military ID, military ID, military ID, military,! For online services at this time our office submit your application has been completed, please call the office apply! 81.00 - public marriage license application this route, you must pay 20., then they must have these DOCUMENTS when you pick it up following the three-day wait certificate.!, Last ) MALE FEMALE and existent in the Indiana county where they plan getting! Them lives you 've provided is considered perjury and is prosecutable 8 a.m. to 4:30.... Office, you apply for marriage license online michigan n't have one or both are state residents Michigan marriage license ritual for your. You, your marriage ceremony days — marriage must be used in the county clerk are!, the unauthorized officiant may face penalties, upon conviction alert you to the clerk ’ s license identity! The oath required for joint taxes, insurance, social security number their own identification waiver, you need obtain! 'Ll need a marriage license in Michigan with the process outlined below call the office show... Divorced, the custodial parent is granting consent, bring the guardianship papers find the county... Used for residency verification, it must contain your date of application, have! License vary from state to state recording following your marriage license of both parties at the Wayne county office! Course, you must pay applications are available through the Oakland county clerk should alert you to the clerk s! Your application is entered online ( click on link below ) for following.