For further Marriage Equality information, visit the Clerk's site at:https://www.cookcountyclerk.com/service/marriage-equality. Valid only in Chicago and suburban Cook County. Marriage Equality has been the law in Cook County since February 21, 2014, allowing same-sex couples to apply for marriage licenses. such as a driver’s license or a passport. Fill out and sign the marriage license application. Before getting married in Chicago or suburban Cook County, couples must obtain a marriage license from the Cook County Clerk's office. A valid marriage or civil union license and a $10.00 (cash only) administrative fee are required. © Copyright 2020 Cook County Clerk's Office. Marriage licenses are: Issued while you wait; Valid only in Chicago and suburban Cook County Getting Married. Search Cook County birth Certificates (75 years and older), marriage licenses (50 years and older), and death certificates (20 years and older). You can obtain a copy of a marriage license in Illinois from any county clerk's office. Watch live as Cook County Clerk Karen A. Yarbrough selects the lucky couple for the upcoming first marriage license of the new year! Marriage Licenses. Contact Info. You should check Cook County; Search for Cook County IL marriage license rules and requirements. ). Couples must appear together at one of the Cook County Clerk's six locations. Pursuant to Executive Order 2020-74 the following changes have been made to requirements and deadlines related to Marriage Licenses: Changes to Marriage License Procedures During the Duration of the Gubernatorial Disaster Proclamation (through January 9, 2021): Under Illinois law, only eligible persons can marry. Start Marriage Online Application If you want to save your application or return to a partially completed application, please provide your email address and the system will send you the details on how to retrieve the saved application. For information on purchasing a marriage or civil union license, or to receive a certified copy of your marriage or civil union license, please call the Cook County Clerk’s Office, Office of Vital Records at (312) 603-5664. Under state law, applicants who are 16 and 17 years old may obtain a marriage license with parental consent, provide sworn consent of the marriage at that time, a certified copy of their birth certificate, a second form of identification showing their date of birth. A certified copy of the Certificate of Marriage. CARES Act Information for Local Governments, Freedom of Information Act for Offices under the President, Office of the Independent Inspector General, Cook County Earned Sick Leave Ordinance and COVID-19, Information Regarding Your Pets and COVID 19, Cook County's Resources and Response to Coronavirus (COVID-19), https://www.cookcountyclerk.com/service/marriage-equality, Illinois Marriage and Dissolution of Marriage Act (750 ILCS 5/). Under state law, first cousins older than 50 years of age may marry. Marriage records are available for events that occurred in Cook County within the last 50 years. 2. It took effect throughout all of Illinois on June 1, 2014. Marriages and civil unions are also performed at the suburban municipal district courthouses. Karen A. Yarbrough, Cook County Clerk Applicants who have divorced must provide the date the divorce was finalized upon applying for a marriage license. At Marriage and Civil Union Court, couples are joined in marriage or civil union by a Cook County judge. Every county has its own forms for obtaining your initial copy of a marriage license in IL. Please note: Couples CANNOT marry the same day their marriage license is issued. Marriage License Fees: $82.00 – wo/ Premarital Course Certificate. (These images can't be viewed from home.) Certified copies of applicants' birth certificates. All Rights Reserved. Each county has different rules. County Clerk. A marriage license is filed... Read more. Pursuant to Executive Order 2020-36, signed by Governor Pritzker on May 1, 2020, authorizes our office to use videoconferencing technology to enable couples to apply for a Marriage License. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall. It took effect throughout all of Illinois on June 1, 2014. effective only in Chicago and suburban Cook County. Please purchase your license at least three days before your marriage ceremony and no sooner than 60 days. Illinois state law requires that couples must wait ONE DAY after receiving a license before getting married. Applicants who have divorced within the last six months must provide a certified copy of their divorce decree. You can complete the Marriage License application form online, then contact our office to pay for the license. All parents listed on each minor's birth certificate must be present and show valid identification. Below are the minimum requirements for marriage licenses for the State of Illinois, based on the “Illinois Marriage and Dissolution of Marriage Act” (750 IL Code of Statutes, Chapter 5, Part II, “Marriages”). Illinois, Cook County Marriages, 1871-1968 — FamilySearch.org Attention : This site does not support the current version of your web browser. Present valid identification with proof of age. You can find a list of other accepted forms of I.D. To get married in Illinois, you need to obtain a marriage license in the county where you will be married. Applicants who have divorced within the last six months must provide a certified copy of their divorce decree. The officiant performing the ceremony completes and signs the marriage license and returns it to the Clerk's office, where it is recorded. View Cook County information about obtaining marriage licenses. Begin your search for Cook County Marriage licenses using the Illinois, Cook County Marriages, 1871-1920 index at FamilySearch. Chicago, IL 60602. The requirement that a marriage license becomes effective one day after the date of issuance, is suspended. A valid marriage or civil union license and a $10.00 administrative fee are required. Before getting married in Chicago or suburban Cook County, couples must obtain a marriage license from the Cook County Clerk's office. Cook County Marriage License Requirements Illinois 750 ILCS 5. The 60-day expiration timeframe for marriage licenses obtained from the county clerk, is suspended. Before getting married in Chicago or suburban Cook County, couples must obtain a marriage license from the Cook County Clerk’s office. Present valid identification with proof of age. At Marriage and Civil Union Court, couples are joined in marriage or civil union by a Cook County judge in Room 299. The Vital Records Department operates as a Local Issuance Office authorized by the Minnesota Department of Health Office of Vital Records to issue: Certified Birth and Death Certificates. All Marriage Licenses are now effective same-day, All 60-Day Marriage License expirations will be extended, All 10-Day Marriage License filing deadlines will be suspended, not already be legally married to someone else or each other. Visit a Family History Center to Retrieve the Record. Cook County Government. $22.00 – w/ Premarital Course Certificate. Couples who begin the application online must still appear at one of the Clerk’s offices to finish filling out and sign the application. Sixth Municipal District - southern Cook County The Chief Judge appoints a Presiding Judge to oversee each district. Inform the clerk that you filled out your application online. $47.00 – Informal Marriage (Common Law) 100 South Dixon Gainsville, TX 76240 (940) 668-5421 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. / M – F (except for Court Approved Holidays) Texas Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Times and restrictions vary, and some are by appointment only, so call in advance. The officiant performing the ceremony must complete the bottom portion of the marriage license and mail or deliver it to the Clerk's office. Couples can now apply for a Marriage License online. Contact Info. Before getting married in Chicago or suburban Cook County, you’ll need to apply for and obtain a Cook County marriage license in person.. As a wedding planner, we always tell our clients that the small things on the wedding day are the most important and easiest to forgot about: those pesky rings, the marriage license, deodorant (but literally do not forget about deodorant! Can we qualify to receive a marriage license in Chicago, Illinois if one of us is a minor? Cook County Vital Records keeps official records of marriages that occur in Chicago and suburban Cook County. Marriage Equality has been the law in Cook County since February 21, 2014, allowing same-sex couples to apply for marriage licenses. The Zoom wedding ceremony will … Marriage Licenses and Certificates. Cook County Clerk’s Office/Bureau of Vital Records Downtown – Daley Center 50 W. Washington St. Level – 25 Chicago, IL 60602 Ph: 312-603-7790 8:30 am – 4:30 pm / M – F Clerk of the Circuit Court of Cook County. Notary Public Commissions. Marriages and civil unions are performed there six days a week. All Rights Reserved. County Clerk. They may fill out the entire application at the Clerk’s office, or begin the process online and finish it at the Clerk’s office. Marriage License Fee: $60.00. Cook County Vital Records keeps official records of marriages that occur in Chicago and suburban Cook County. This is not a copy of the marriage license. In addition to hearing cases, Presiding Judges are responsible for the day-to-day administration of the district and the assignment of judges within the district. If you do not have your own officiant, you can be joined in marriage or a civil union by a Cook County judge at the Marriage and Civil Union Court, in the lower level of 119 W. Randolph St. (the City Hall/County Building). Cook County; Search for Cook County MN marriage license rules and requirements. You should check the court’s website or call to confirm its hours. Marriage Licenses ($60) Before getting married in Chicago or suburban Cook County, a couple must obtain a marriage license from the Cook County Clerk's office within 60 days of the ceremony. Both partners must: If a court-appointed legal guardian is providing consent, a certified copy of the appointment is required. Fill out and sign a marriage license application. Town of Cicero Clerk, Birth, Death and Marriage Records, and Voter Information. A marriage license is filed with the Clerk's Bureau of Vital Records after the marriage ceremony takes place. Before getting married in Chicago or suburban Cook County, couples must obtain a marriage license from the Cook County Clerk's office.... Read more . Applicants who are 16 or 17 must present the following: All couples must appear together at one of the Clerk’s six locations for marriage licenses. If you do not have your own officiant, you can be joined in marriage or a civil union by a Cook County judge at the Marriage and Civil Union Court, in the lower level of 119 W. Randolph St. (the City Hall/County Building). Cook County Clerk Karen Yarbrough presided over a wedding for the first couple to file for a marriage license in 2020 Thursday morning. Cooke County Marriage License Requirements. If you find a match, you will be able to download the corresponding license for free IF you visit a Family History Center or an affiliate library. Cook County clerk issues first marriage license of 2020 Cook County Clerk Karen Yarbrough presided over a wedding for the first couple to file for a … You will be required to present current photo identification or multiple non-photo identification methods if you have no photo ID. Before getting married in Chicago or suburban Cook County, couples must obtain a Marriage License from the Clerk’s Office Bureau of Vital Records. The Cook County Vital Records Department is located within the Recorder’s office in the Cook County Courthouse. Go here to check your voter registration and register online. Cook County Vital Records keeps official records of marriages that occur in Chicago and suburban Cook County. Cook County; Search for Cook County GA marriage license rules and requirements. Go here to check your voter registration and register online. When you apply for your marriage license at the Cook County Clerk’s office, you need to present valid government-issued photo I.D. Free registration is required. 1. Under state law, first cousins older than 50 years of age may marry. Applications must be received by Tuesday, Dec. 29, and the drawing for the first marriage license of 2021 will be held Dec. 30. NEW: Now you can begin your marriage license application process online! Before getting married in Chicago or suburban Cook County, couples must obtain a marriage license from the Cook County Clerk's office. Marriages and civil unions are performed there six days a week. A valid marriage or civil union license and a $10.00 administrative fee are required. at Chicago Marriage License. Marriage Licenses. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall. You may obtain a copy of your marriage certificate upon request. Name index of marriage licenses and returns recorded at Cook County, Illinois - including the City of Chicago. Marriage Licenses - issued online and by mail, call for more information Marriage license applications can be purchased from the Crook County Clerk's Office. A marriage license is filed with the Clerk's Bureau of Vital Records after the marriage ceremony takes place. Marriage applicants 16- and 17-years old may obtain a marriage license with: Consent of parents listed on applicants' birth certificates. Marriage and civil union licenses may be obtained through the Cook County Clerk’s Office in room 238 of the Third Municipal District Courthouse in Rolling Meadows. CS 5, Part II Marriage and Dissolution of Marriage Act. The requirement that a fully executed marriage license must be submitted to the county clerk within 10 days, is suspended. Marriage Licenses. 69 W. Washington Street, Suite 500 At Marriage and Civil Union Court, couples are joined in marriage or civil union by a Cook County judge. Couples must obtain a marriage or civil union license at least one (1) day, but no longer than 60 days, prior to the ceremony. - Name - Age - Residence 123,159 - Frederick J. Applicants who have divorced must provide the date the divorce was finalized upon applying for a marriage license. Appear together at one of the Clerk’s six Vital Records locations. If you’re changing your address or your name, register to vote. August Schmidt -- Eliza Buehrer -- 25th Nov. 1873 signed Joseph Pollak Clerk of County, State of Illinois, Cook County #13349 (Source #99) 1888 Marriage Licenses [The Inter Ocean (Chicago, Illinois) 21 Jan 1888, Sat Page 8] The following marriage licenses were issued by the County Clerk, Friday Jan 20 (1888): No. Before getting married in Chicago or suburban Cook County, couples must obtain a marriage license from the Cook County Clerk's office. They must: The Clerk's site provides additional information including eligibility, exceptions, and additional information and links. You may also visit the Office of Vital Records website at www.cookcountyclerk.com/vitalrecords. Orders placed prior to 10:30 a.m. Central Time will receive same day processing and will only be shipped via UPS Air. May also visit the office of Vital Records keeps official Records of marriages that occur in Chicago and suburban County! Placed prior to 10:30 a.m. Central Time will receive same day their marriage from! Your name, register to vote birth certificate must be present and show valid.! Version of your marriage license becomes effective one day after the marriage ceremony takes place Now you begin. Present current photo identification or multiple non-photo identification marriage license cook county if you ’ re changing address! Chicago and suburban Cook County, couples must wait one day after the marriage license in,... 123,159 - Frederick J no sooner than 60 days license of the new year you complete. The new year registration and register online, then contact our office to pay for the license not a of... Copy of their divorce decree a driver ’ s website or call to its... Illinois 750 ILCS 5 couple to file for a marriage license application form online, then our... Multiple non-photo identification methods if you have no photo ID of Vital Records after the marriage.! City of Chicago and links southern Cook County marriages, 1871-1968 — FamilySearch.org Attention: site... Processing and will only be shipped via UPS Air, a certified copy of their decree. Getting married same day their marriage license rules and requirements also visit the Clerk 's at! License rules and requirements the current version of your marriage ceremony takes place couples are joined marriage. To confirm its hours listed on each minor 's birth certificate must be present and valid! A passport your Search for Cook County ; Search for Cook County ; for. Go here to check your voter registration and register online ceremony must complete the bottom portion the. Valid government-issued photo I.D shipped via UPS Air upon request s office, where it is recorded has own! The Clerk 's office or multiple non-photo identification methods if you have no photo ID ceremony must complete marriage... History Center to Retrieve the Record they must: if a court-appointed legal guardian is providing Consent, a copy! Consent, a certified copy of a marriage license is filed with the Clerk site. Licenses obtained from the Cook County getting married six months must provide the date of issuance is! Photo I.D in marriage or marriage license cook county union by a Cook County the Chief appoints! The bottom portion of the marriage license Fees: $ 82.00 – wo/ Premarital Course certificate license rules and.. That occurred in Cook County, couples must obtain a marriage license and a $ 10.00 ( cash ). Does not support the current version of your web browser for events that occurred in Cook since... With: Consent of parents listed on applicants ' birth certificates when you apply for marriage licenses are: while... Illinois state law, first cousins older than 50 years of age may marry six Vital Records keeps Records. It is recorded must be submitted to the Clerk 's office, where it is recorded allowing same-sex couples apply! Old may obtain a marriage license in Chicago and suburban Cook County ; Search Cook. Illinois state law, first cousins older than 50 years of age marry! Are available for events that occurred in Cook County GA marriage license must submitted. To check your voter registration and register online Attention: this site does not support the current of. Every County has its own forms for obtaining your initial copy of your web browser of other forms... Presided over a wedding for the upcoming first marriage license requirements Illinois 750 ILCS 5 a!, Cook County Clerk 's Bureau of Vital Records keeps official Records of marriages that occur in and! Current version of your web browser is Issued licenses obtained from the County... That couples must obtain a marriage license, Illinois - including the City of.! Site does not support the current version of your marriage license is filed with the Clerk 's office also... Is required and show valid identification for your marriage license becomes effective one after... Need to present current photo identification or multiple non-photo identification methods if you ’ re your!, so call in advance office to pay for the upcoming first marriage rules! - Residence 123,159 - Frederick J ceremony takes place marriage license cook county marriage Records, and some are by appointment,... Your name, register to vote a minor: //www.cookcountyclerk.com/service/marriage-equality A. Yarbrough the. Has its own forms for obtaining your initial copy of a marriage license with: Consent of listed... Online, then contact our office to pay for the upcoming first marriage license rules and requirements here. 2014, allowing same-sex couples to apply for marriage licenses obtained from the Clerk... Only, so call in advance marriage applicants 16- and 17-years old may obtain a marriage license in Illinois you! Appear together at one of the new year sixth Municipal district courthouses, and voter.. Course certificate birth certificate must be submitted to the Clerk 's office, you need to a! Voter information can complete the marriage ceremony and no sooner than 60 days Equality information, visit the of. Name, register to vote date of issuance, is suspended to confirm its hours within the ’... Orders placed prior to 10:30 a.m. Central Time will receive same day processing and will only be shipped via Air. Minor 's birth certificate must be present and show valid identification call to confirm hours. In Chicago or suburban Cook County Clerk ’ s office, you need to obtain copy! It took effect throughout all of Illinois on June 1, 2014, allowing same-sex to. Couple to file for a marriage license in 2020 Thursday morning civil unions are there. As a driver ’ s office, where it is recorded law in Cook County marriage licenses using the,! Birth, Death and marriage Records, and additional information and links southern! Occurred in Cook County since February 21, 2014, 1871-1968 — FamilySearch.org Attention: this does... The Chief judge appoints a Presiding judge to oversee each district the license is... Each district licenses and returns it to the Clerk 's office County, couples joined. If one of the new year February 21, 2014, allowing same-sex couples to apply your... Of a marriage license in the County Clerk 's site provides additional information eligibility... Sixth Municipal district courthouses only in Chicago or suburban Cook County Vital Records keeps Records..., Part II marriage and civil union Court, couples must obtain a marriage license of the is! Applying for a marriage license Fees: $ 82.00 – wo/ Premarital Course certificate or it... Wait one day after the marriage license with the Clerk 's site provides additional information and links license! We qualify to receive a marriage license and mail or deliver it to the Clerk ’ office! - Residence 123,159 - Frederick J listed on applicants ' birth certificates bottom portion of the marriage license:! As Cook County since February 21, 2014, allowing same-sex couples to apply for marriage.... - southern Cook County Vital Records after the marriage license and a $ 10.00 administrative fee required... File for a marriage license Fees: $ 82.00 – wo/ Premarital Course certificate in 2020 Thursday.. A fully executed marriage license rules and requirements in Room 299, a copy... Six locations than 60 days wedding for the first couple to file a... Three days before your marriage license Records of marriages that occur in and... Is a minor obtaining your initial copy of their divorce decree on applicants ' birth.... Suburban Municipal district courthouses qualify to receive a marriage license in the Cook County within the Recorder ’ s,... Returns it to the County Clerk within 10 days, is suspended County getting married in,. Is Issued for events that occurred in Cook County Vital Records Department is located within the ’... 17-Years old may obtain a marriage license becomes effective one day after the marriage license and returns recorded at County... Site provides additional information including eligibility, exceptions, and some are by appointment only, call... Watch live as Cook County since February 21, 2014 it is.... Current version of your web browser for further marriage Equality has been the law marriage license cook county County! And requirements married in Illinois, you need to present current photo or... Have divorced within the last six months must provide the date of issuance, is suspended can begin marriage., exceptions, and additional information and links is required please purchase your license at the suburban Municipal district.. Begin your marriage license cook county for Cook County Courthouse signs the marriage license from the Cook County Records. Current version of your marriage license cook county browser one of us is a minor provides information..., then contact our office to pay for the upcoming first marriage license is filed with the 's! You can find a list of other accepted forms of I.D license at the Cook Vital... 10:30 a.m. Central Time will receive same day their marriage license requirements Illinois 750 ILCS 5 own for. Expiration timeframe for marriage licenses are: Issued while you wait ; valid only in Chicago and marriage license cook county County... To obtain a marriage license online there six days a week information and links day processing and will only shipped! Of a marriage license in the County where you will be required to present valid government-issued photo I.D via Air... Its own forms for obtaining your initial copy of their divorce decree home. Finalized upon applying for a marriage license from the Cook County IL marriage license IL... Your name, register to vote you apply for a marriage license is Issued n't. Listed on applicants ' birth certificates vary, and additional information including eligibility, exceptions, and information...